I am not a B*tch – but I do like Cake!

I had one of those days where I think that it would have been an idea to wear a warning on my shirt that said *BEWARE, this B*tch bites*….one of those days that not even a slab of chocolate or a bottle of wine can fix… so on the way home, I popped into the Mom ‘n Pop corner store for inspiration… and Inspiration I did find! BLUEBERRIES!!

We all know that this little blue balls of sweetness contain a diverse range of micronutrients and have high levels of the essential vitamins like B6, C and K… not to mention that it provides some additional attributes that have shown effects in reducing risks of some diseases, including inflammation and certain cancers…

Now I know that the inflammation that I had was in the b*tch-zone… and I definitely need some feel good releasing endorphins (right?????)… so I scoured my latest magazines and found a purr-fect recipe in the latest Good Food Magazine (March 2012 page 93).

Polenta & Blueberry loaf

100g Polenta

200g self-raising flour

140g caster sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

140g butter, softened

2 Tablespoons Orange juice (I didn’t have orange juice – so i used lemon juice, it just meant that the cake was not as sweet)

1 egg

200g blueberries

  1. Mix Polenta, flour, sugar, baking powder & butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs
  2. Mix juice with the egg and pour into dry mixture
  3. Mix until mixture forms a ball of dough
  4. Grease a loaf tin
  5. Add half the dough into the loaf tin and scatter half the blueberries
  6. Cover with the other half of the dough… and finish with the remaining blueberries
  7. Bake for 1hr at 160C

YEAH – the cure for B*tchiness!!!

Leave a Reply

