How to survive an attack from the fast ripening banana…bread

I don’t know how it happens and I am pretty convinced that there are some fictional fantasy creatures who take a huge amount of joy in taunting me… but no matter when I buy banana’s… even if it is 2 bunches days apart… they all go from beautiful golden hues of yellow to black OVERNIGHT! Not one, not two – but the entire f*%$ing bunch!

So I stuck with a quandary of sorts… I already made a Chocolate Banana bread  this month (to take to the Ardennes) and in order to properly expand my database of blogged recipes… I return to my ever favourite (hand written) recipe book … where the smudges/smears/stains are very real 🙂 and thankfully dry …

i think every woman has one of these... a smeared and well used hand written recipe book!

I don’t even know where this recipe originated from… but I know that it is easy (surely this is becoming a trend with my recipes (and not with me :))… and really only needs a handful of ingredients … whooppeee

Banana Bread

150g butter

cup of sugar

2 eggs

cup of mashed banana

60ml plain yoghurt

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon bicarb of soda (or baking soda)

  1. Mix butter, sugar, eggs, banana & yoghurt together
  2. sift in Flour, bicarb & baking powder
  3. Beat on a low speed
  4. Bake at 180C for 50-60min

Is that it? you ask… well, um… yes 🙂

guess what's for breakfast? 🙂

Pretty good solution for the attack of the fast ripening banana’s, eh??

Well I thought so!!

3 thoughts on “How to survive an attack from the fast ripening banana…bread

  1. WOW and YUM! 🙂 I’ve heard that if your bananas are near onions, the ethylene gas from them can ripen the bananas faster. I’ve also pre-mashed some and kept them in the freezer for those days when I haven’t run to the supermarket and need my fix. LOVE the addition of yogurt! 🙂

  2. wow those really luk yummilicious. i wish d@ i had 1 of ur banana bread 2 make my tastebud go wild wit desire. luv farie

  3. Pingback: Feeling nuts, Banana and Walnut Bread « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

