Julie and Julia inspire me to find my marbles (cake)

I have these moments (and I pray to God that I am not some unusual creature that is the only one that experiences it)… but I do have these moments where I think that my life could be a movie… or at least moments where I want to reflect a concept that I saw in a movie (and no… I am not thinking of Princess Fiona in Shrek or the creature from the blue lagoon)… more along the lines of … say… um…

Julie & Julia….  I watched this movie with M a while back – but it has really stuck with me, especially since I started this blog just over a month ago! Particularly the whole concept of both women, Julia Child and Julie Powell who both wrote memoirs about their passion for cooking… and the trials and tribulations that they both faced!

The movie is described as a culinary legend about a frustrated office worker, Julie Powell who decides to cook her way through Julie Child’s 524 recipes in 365 days, while blogging her experiences along the way!

I love this movie for multiple reasons – but mainly because my challenge to myself is to make sure I publish a blog everyday – either a restaurant experience that I wish to share, a recipe that I have attempted (new or old) or *cooked by you* home dishes (and by *you*… I mean dinner at friends)

One of the other reasons that I adore this movie is because it has Meryl Streep in it as Julia Child… and she never EVER fails to disappoint… and of course I do love Stanley Tucci as Paul Child (he played opposite Cher in *Burlesque*,  with Meryl Streep/Anne Hathoway in *The Devil wears Prada*, amongst others and will be in the upcoming *Hunger Games*)

I digress…

Within the latest BBC Good Food magazine (April 2012 issue) – there was an additional booklet sponsored by Lakeland (the home of creative kitchenware) called *30+ Brilliant Bakes*… so as I stood waiting for the Guinness Beer Bread Loaf to bake – I decided to make productive use of the time and whip up another bake …

 On Page 24… I found it!

Chocolate Marble Cake that requires 15minutes of prep and is baked in just under 40minutes!

Schweet!

Chocolate Marble Cake

225g softened butter

225g butter

4 eggs

225g self raising flour

3 Tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

2 Tablespoons cocoa powder

  1. If you have a food processor – add all ingredients and whizz for 2minutes
  2. If you don’t hav ea food processor… then beat butter with sugar, add eggs one by one
  3. Sift in flour
  4. Add milk and vanilla essence and mix until smooth
  5. Divide into 2 bowls and add the cocoa powder to one…
  6. alternative the choc and vanilla mixture into a greased baking container and use a skewer (or chopstick like i do) to swirl it a bit ot make a marble effect (instead of mixing it all together :))
  7. Bake for 40min until skewer comes out clean
  8. (it even freezes!)

    before and after
itching to slice into it... but it is still so nice and warm
Leave a Reply

