Celebrate St Paddy’s day with Guinness Beer Bread

As St Paddy’s day quickly approaches, I feel the need to celebrate in a more traditional way… but I am stuck with a problem (or rather a Lenten sacrifice)… of not being able to consume alcohol from Monday – Saturday… and now I have all these cans of Guinness sitting in my fridge… chilling to just the right temperature… whatever shall I do???

1 can of Guinness Draught = 1 loaf of tasty bread...

And what do you know… Dr Google came to the rescue! In fact – the internet was littered with different beer bread recipes … some with yeast, some without – but I found one that looked easy on a website called www.food.com and posted by felix4067  (in fact – a little too easy to be honest)… but thought… What the heck… it is mid-week and I can afford to experiment this evening! (and the result was a combination of about 2 or 3 recipes… so experimentation is really the topic here :))

And what did I end up with?? A Very tasty dinner of Guinness Bread slathered in *laughing cow* cheese and thinly shaved slices of chicken… and a loaf that ISN’T stale a day later!!! Which begs the next important question… “when will I make this again?” and I think that I can safely say that it will be on the menu for Sunday night Supper Club!!

tell me that this doesn't look tasty..... nom nom nom

GUINNESS BEER BREAD

4 cups flour

2 Tablespoons baking powder

Pinch of salt

1/4 cup sugar

350ml Guinness

cup of grated cheddar cheese

2 eggs

  1. Sift dry ingredients
  2. Beat Eggs and add Guinness
  3. Add to dry ingredients with cheddar cheese until lightly blended
  4. Pour into greased loaf pan
  5. Bake at 190C for 45-50min
  6. Cool and then lather with butter or topping of your choice..

 

  1. a loaf of tasty bread in an hour... BRILLIANT!

 

4 thoughts on “Celebrate St Paddy’s day with Guinness Beer Bread

  1. Pingback: Julie and Julia inspire me to find my marbles (cake) « whyiamnotskinny

  2. Pingback: Freshly baked Corn Beer Bread, easier than you think « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

