Colonial Mt Nelson High Tea

You really can’t get much more colonial than the afternoon Tea at the Mount Nelson in Cape Town… in fact… I always day-dream while I am sitting there on a plush little settee that this would have been a perfect life for me… the Lady of the Manor being served delicate finger sandwiches and exquisite little petit fours and scones….with my ladies-in-waiting… while waiting for the Lord of the Manor to return home after a tiring day taking over the world (or something)…. might even through in a hand-held fan or a pair of finger-less lace gloves….

courtesy of the Mount Nelson website.... but it truly does look like this!!!

*BUBBLE BURST*

There are no ladies in waiting… and I am not waiting for any Lord of the Manor… BUT the Nelly (as it is affectionately called) does offer a High Tea Spread that would please the Queen (Liz or even  Freddie for that matter)

I have lost count of how many times I have been an active chipmunk in this setting (and by chipmunk – I refer to my gift of being able to stuff as much treats into my cheeks before my stomach realises that it is full!)… but I can promise that I have been there at least as many times as I have fingers… (that’s 10… just in case you were wondering if I ever did woodwork at school :))

a little plate of heaven (looking at this - I have to resist the urge to lick the screen...)

The Tea promises finger sandwiches filled with rare roast beef and rocket, smoked salmon, egg mayonnaise or cucumber (strangely enough…  the cucumber is my favourite);  followed by delectable dark chocolate cake, lemon meringue (which unfortunately is no match for my Aunt J’s version which is extra extra TART) and of course… freshly baked scones with clotted cream and preserves!! They even have the *south african* delicacy of “melktert” … and serve this all up with your favourite choice of tea….

different pots of tea intermixed with a few glasses of bubbles... just how I like it!

you can have the option of a morning tea… but this just doesn’t have the same appeal… especially since I like to order a bottle of bubbles to accompany the tea (and some folk just look at you strangely if you start drinking before 11am)

Daily: 14h30-17h30

very classy ....

Price: R185 per person (remember not to eat lunch or dinner… then this is  a pretty good deal)

Dress code: smart casual

Address:  Mount Nelson, 76 Orange Street, Cape Town, 8001 (SA)

Telephone #: +27 21 483 1948

www.mountnelson.co.za

One thought on “Colonial Mt Nelson High Tea

Leave a Reply

