Cheese, Chive and Mustard Muffins… easy peasy

Cooking and being in the kitchen has always been a source of joy and happiness for me… a comforting place where measuring and mixing had calming effects even during the stressful years of university!!

For Easter 2001, instead of a bag of Easter Eggs… my mom gave me the *Snowflake* book of baking and I am eternally grateful for this… not only because it had a short-term effect on saving my waistband, as I wasn’t scoffing marshmallow eggs (however the long-term effects can be seen in my ever emerging waistline)… but because the recipes within this book of joy are all easy peasy and flop-free and have been a part of my life for over 10years!!

I have always had a recipe book or magazine (along with a crime, horror or thriller novel) next to my bed (and bath – but this is a complete other story)… not because I want to dream of cooking but because I find the entire recipe reading experience therapeutic… and of course because I like to look at the pictures 🙂

These were made on Sunday before heading over the 5pm Supper Club… and I was pleasantly surprised on how easy they were to make (and to eat!)

CHEESE, CHIVE & MUSTARD MUFFINS

cheesy goodness

makes 12

1 egg

200ml milk

250ml cake flour (140g)

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon mustard

375ml (150g) grated cheddar cheese

50ml chopped chives

  1. Beat egg lightly in a measuring jug and then fill ug with milk to 250ml
  2. Sift dry ingredients together, add cheese and chives
  3. Mix in mustard and eggy milk mixture
  4. spoon into greased muffin tins
  5. Bake at 200C (400F) for 15-20minutes until golden brown

 

EASY….

Leave a Reply

