Le Petit Canon

We have lived in our apartment for 11months… and this was the first time that I finally had a drink at the Wine Bar at the end of our street! Which is only 3doors down from us.

Now most people are shocked to hear this… but in reality, we have our own outside courtyard… wine in the fridge and snacks in the cupboard… plus my couch is really comfy (in comparison to those wooden slated outdoor folding chairs)…

BUT having said this – I did finally venture into Le Petit Canon on the corner of Rue Lebroussart & Rue de Hennin in Ixelles (near Flagey) one friday afternoon after work with a colleague.

It can be termed as basic, quaint and relaxed with no airs & graces – but a distinct air of good wine & tasty nibbles to accompany them… we sat outside in the sun and watched the tram, buses, cars & people go by. (We did have to move tables to a shady area sometime during the afternoon as I started to turn a lobster shade of red….a colour that just doesn’t work on me :))

le petit canon menu

You can of course – also sit inside – but in typical Belgium form – a bit of blue sky & sunshine means that everyone wants to sit outdoors! And who can blame them! The interior of the place, however, is very cute…

le petit canon interior

I ordered a “Half n Half” – half cava & half white wine and can definitely see this drink becoming a firm favourite in my future – while my colleague ordered a KIR ROYAL

le petit canon wine and menu

We also opted to share some nibbles – Tomato Tapenade served with toasted bread - so delicious that I could have liked out the bowl (if I hadn’t been in public, that is)

le petit canon tomato tapenade

Would I return? Yes – there is very good chance that this might become a new watering hole for me – not just for the wine (although good) – but for the delightful array of nibbles that they sell to go with it!

LE PETIT CANON

address: 91 Rue Lebroussart, Ixelles, 1050, Brussels, BELGIUM

telephone: +32 2 640 3834

Facebook

Opening hours: Mon- Fri: 16h00-23h00, Sat: 11h00-23h00

2 comments on “Le Petit Canon

  1. brennanjane says:

    It’s also lovely in the winter… Especially if there is snow on the ground outside, very cozy!

  2. […] evening that I partook in a few glasses of “Half n Half” at Le Petit Canon (read post here)… I also met up with 2 of my favourite Canadians… for a decent catch-up and a bit of […]

Leave a Reply

