BEST steak of my life… in Austria

As a South African, I have been spoilt with local and flavoursome meat… so when I moved to Europe, I hit a wall of disappointment that the meat here didn’t have the same taste (or in some cases, had no taste at all!) so when our latest workshop trip had us travelling to Graz in Austria and our colleagues suggested an American Bar & Grill called Clock Tower - where I was *told* to order a steak… I was sceptical…

OMG…their tagline is “Best Steak in Town” … and I have to say that they are right!! Probably even the best steak in Austria, hell, make that Europe… and in my humble opinion … one of the BEST steaks that I have probably ever had!

Located next to the Harley Davidson Motorcycle shop, the theme becomes pretty obvious… an all American Bar & Grill with wide and varying menu…. lots of different meat choices :)

this Harley was beautifully positioned in the window
this Harley was beautifully positioned in the window

clocktower signage

interior
interior
they can have me... if they feed me!
they can have me… if they feed me!

We ordered some starters to get our taste buds going and every single one of them had people making *yum* sounds:

Fried CHEESE sticks -  6.50Euros
Fried CHEESE sticks – 6.50Euros
Curry chilli soup with a Prawn skewer - 4,90Euros
Curry chilli soup with a Prawn skewer – 4,90Euros
Red Hot Chilli Poppers - 6,50Euros
Red Hot Chilli Poppers – 6,50Euros

and then to the REAL deal… Steaks.

The concept is simple -

  1. Select your cut (filet mignon, Sirloin Butt , Strip Loin , Rib Eye or Tender Loin)…(there is also 1.5kg Porterhouse steaks along with 500g/750g prime rib and T-bones… for the “hungry” folk)
  2. Decide upon the weight (from 150g to 450g)
  3. Indicate your cooking preference (from rare to well done)

and then add-on your *sides* (creamed spinach, crispy fries, baked potato, mixed Indian vegetables, etc etc… ) or a sauce/dip (spicy whisky, lime cream, soft pepper, chipotle cream) – these cost extra and range from 3-6€ for a side and 1-2€ for a sauce/dip.

Collegues 250g filet (20,50euros) with a baked potato (4,50euro) and a pepper sauce (2,00euro)
Colleagues 250g filet (20,50euros) with a baked potato (4,50euro) and a pepper sauce (2,00euro)
My 250g Filet (20,50euro) with creamed spinach (3,50euro) and a whisky cream sauce (2,00euro)
My 250g Filet (20,50euro) with creamed spinach (3,50euro) and a whisky cream sauce (2,00euro)

Would I go back again? YES YES YES….. Even though it works out to be quite an expensive meal… it really is worth it!!

Clock Tower Restaurant

Address: Kärntnerstrasse 173, Graz, AUSTRIA 8053

Telephone: +43 316/258 173 200

http://restaurant.hdgraz.at

email: gastro@hdgraz.at

3 thoughts on “BEST steak of my life… in Austria

  1. Hi. I love Graz…one of the most underrated destinations in Europe and I love the look of this place and such good value by Austrian standards … wow. The food looks wholesome and good. I am definitely hitting this place with my family next time we are there this December.

Leave a Reply

