Meat-free fridays… shall be renamed CRAB friday…

It is Lent and even though I have given up alcohol, I am also trying to respect the *MEAT-FREE* Friday rule. (Even more so on Good Friday!!!) Thankfully, Sunday’s are considered feast days – so I have been able to embibe on these days (although knowing full well that monday is a work day, does restrict my *catch up* philosophy :)).

Lent is a 40day period (excluding Sundays) starting on Ash Wednesday (the day after Shrove Tuesday (aka Pancake day) and ending on Easter Eve (the Saturday before Easter Sunday). And in the Catholic Church it is *traditional* to abstain from meat on Ash Wednesday as well as all Friday’s during the Lenten period.

With this in mind – I have successfully been able to abstain from eating meat on Fridays…  not that I am a big meat eater… but just that it limited my everyday choices of chicken and meat - and I really started to have sympathy for vegetarians with the limited  restaurant vegetarian options!!

But I dug deep and instead of resorting to *fish & chips* or another tuna mayo sandwich (which incidentally I had for lunch *blush*)… I found this crab recipe in the latest issue of Olive Magazine:

Linguine with crab, lemon and parsley

150g linguine

olive oil

1 red chilli, finely chopped

1 garlic clove, slice

170g tin crabmeat, drained

1 lemon, juiced

1/2 a small bunch of parsley, chopped (I used mint)

  1. cook linguine according to packet instructions
  2. heat the 2-3 Tablespoons of olive in a large pan and gently cook the chilli and garlic for 2-3minutes
  3. Drain pasta, keeping 2-3 Tablespoons of the cooking water.
  4. Tip Pasta, crab, lemon and parsley into the pan with oil and chilli and TOSS everything together, heating through and adding some of the pasta water to bring everything together.

VOILA… meat-free friday WITHOUT the *fish & chips* option… and trust me… the chilli is GREAT! ;)

Leave a Reply

